Abergavenny Cycle Group’s summer programme of social bike rides offers something for everyone who enjoys exploring the Monmouthshire by bike.

All the rides are free to join, and led by experienced ride leaders. The pace is always gentle, there’s plenty of time to stop and enjoy the countryside and nobody is left behind.

Sunday, 2 April
Up the Gorge: Railway path to Clydach for a picnic lunch by the lime kilns. Traffic free. 10 miles.

Sunday, 7 May
The Bluebell Run: Quiet lanes for a picnic lunch at the Coed y Bwnydd hill fort. 25 miles.

Sunday, 21 May
Holy Mountain: A circumnavigation of the Big Skirrid. 20 miles.

Saturday, 3 June
Hay in a Day. To Hay-on-Wye and back over the Gospel Pass. 45 miles.

CANCELLED Sunday, 11 June
Raglan Rocks: a ride out to the Raglan music festival. 28 miles. CANCELLED DUE TO A DIARY MIX UP, APOLOGIES!

Sunday, 18 June
Tour D’Abergavenny: a very gentle ride around the town. 8 miles.

CHANGED Saturday, 22 July
Bike, Boats and NoBanjos: a ride out to Goytre Wharf, where the folk music and dance day has been cancelled:-( However the ride will go ahead, and will have an alternative (not Traffic free) return loop. 15(+) miles.

Sunday, 20 August
Around the Sugarloaf with a pub lunch in Llangenny. 17 miles

Sunday, 27 August
Best in Show: A ride to the Llangynidr Show. Traffic free. 25 miles.

Sunday 10 September
Iron Mountain Spectacular – old railway paths to Blaenavon and Pontypool and back on the canal. Traffic free. 35 miles.

Sunday, 1 October
The Hungry Cyclist: a tour of local food producers (booking essential – details tbc). 30 miles.

Rides leave from the St John’s Square, Abergavenny at 10am.

For more details nearer the time check the ACG Facebook group